Two Thousand Twelve {In Review}

“Learn  to enjoy every minute of your life. Be happy now. Don’t wait for something  outside of yourself to make you happy in the future. Think how really precious is the time you have to spend, whether it’s at work or with your family. Every  minute should be enjoyed and savored.”

It occurred to me yesterday that 2012 has been a year of consistency for Brian and I. In the relatively short tenure of our relationship, this is the first year without a drastic life event (we met in ’09, we were engaged in ’10, we married in ’11), but important milestones along the way made this year as memorable and meaningful as the rest.our wedding

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a night at the Crescent (where our reception was held) and a trip to Chicago. I am so blessed to be married to my best friend, and love every minute of our crazy, busy, and adventurous life together.

We welcomed another adorable nephew, Colt, to the family. He is such a sweetheart and the perfect addition to the ever-growing Mahoney clan.

We also welcomed Abbie to Dallas. She is beginning her career and settling in to her very first place…just 3 miles away from us! I officially have both of my best friends in Dallas; I am so blessed.

I am continually thankful for all of the traveling Brian and I are able to do, due largely to the perks of our jobs, and all the time and memories with family and friends we can share.

This year Brian and I also invested a lot of time in some of our favorite new and old hobbies: everything from triathlons to mountain biking, wakeboarding to skiing/snowboarding; we love our active lifestyle.

As I reflect on 2012, the most accurate description of the year I can give is that is was a year of growth. Growth in my faith, growth in my career, growth in my relationship with Brian and with my close family and friends. I am thankful for all of the lessons I have learned: both big and small, and especially those that were hard-earned. I am a person that loves change and constant upheaval to the everyday routine, but this year, I did not experience a lot of big changes. This allowed me to grow and take time to truly experience everyday. I have loved the opportunity to enjoy life: my faith in God, my marriage, family, friends and my job this year. And I am so excited for what 2013 will bring: all the adventures, lessons, and memories to come.

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.” Corrie Ten Boom

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

