What this Country needs…

Is more prayer.

Two weeks ago I received an email for my brother, who also happens to be an amazing man and one of my biggest role models. In his email, he introduced me, my siblings, and my parents to a concept that was introduced to him the previous Sunday in Church:  A Call to Prayer for our Nation. This, at first, was a counter-intuitive idea to me. The impending election and major issues at stake have me not only engaged, but fearful for the outcome of the vote in November, as well as the future of our Country. I have found myself questioning over and over: What can I do? How can I help? And when I saw this email…it did not take me long to realize that praying for our Country wasn’t nothing, but in fact, everything. This is what I can do, how I can help.

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. — 2 Chronicles 7:14

Each day during these 40 days until the election, Dave Butts, Chairman of America’s National Prayer Committee, writes a blog post encouraging those who have taken up this challenge to pray, and offering subjects to pray about. I have found this challenge to be a great way to productively participate in current events. After all, one president, one term, one law or one political party cannot ultimately change our Country for the better.  True, deep, and heartfelt change is only something God can bring about. And that is the change I am praying for now.

In his talk at Dan and Tylie’s Church, Dave detailed his time at an international prayer conference several months ago in Indonesia, where believers from all over the world were telling him about their earnest prayers for our nation. Even Christians from China, who are enduring persecution from their Communist government, were sharing of their prayers for America. If all these people across the world can be praying for our nation, why can’t we?

In his email, Dan shared this quote:

“The greater concern in this election is not really the outcome of the vote, but the worldview of the voters. Candidates will come and go. Laws will be made and later reversed, only to be reversed again. In the long run, the moral and philosophical drift manifested in the elections is the deeper dilemma. Again, this is reflective of the condition of the human heart. Only the Gospel can change the heart and renew the mind according to the word of God. Christians, manifesting the life and proclaiming the truth of Jesus Christ day after day and year after year, are the stewards of the power of the Gospel.”

What our Country needs is a lot more prayer.

One thought on “What this Country needs…

  1. Denise Tochman

    Your are so right, Becca. I have been praying about it for quite awhile now. I do believe in the power of prayer. It is very interesting to know that other parts of the world are also praying for us and the common good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

