A World in Black & White

Last night I indulged myself by watching one of my all-time favorite movies—Sabrina. This movie is a true classic. As are Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart. I love the storyline, the setting, and the elegant wardrobe of each cast member. But I think what I love most are the subtle nuances; the understated humor and the tangible chemistry between the actors. I know I am going to sound like my mom when I say this: but they just don’t make movies like they used to.

Acting has warped in to fame; talent in to reality TV stars of the moment. Don’t get me wrong, I am as guilty as the next in getting caught up in the latest and greatest movie or reality TV trend, but I truly do miss seeing great films with equally exceptional actors. I grew up watching these old movies; the classics. Sabrina, To Catch a Thief, North by Northwest, Charade, Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House, and  Gone With the Wind are among some of my absolute favorite movies. They include everything from intelligent plots, to unexpected twists, palpable suspense, and/or heartfelt romance. The humor is dry; the dialogues clever. Often, these films are in black and white, which to me, only accentuates the details of every scene. I must use my imagination to add a splash of color. The black and white aspect also makes any film more sophisticated. Audrey Hepburn, for example, is the picture of grace and elegance and when depicted in black and white, her features are all the more accented.

 I am glad I grew up watching these movies. I hope to someday introduce my children to a world in black and white, just as my mom did for me.

One thought on “A World in Black & White

Leave a Reply

