The Hostess with the Mostess

That is the definition of my mom. She has such a warm and welcoming way about her…she makes everyone feel right at home with such ease and grace, it is truly amazing to see. Not only does she make everyone feel welcome, she goes out of her way to accommodate everyone who walks in to her home and in to her life. She IS the Hostess with the Mostess.

I love her, and aspire to be much more like her…in this, and so many other ways.

My parents are coming to town tomorrow for the weekend. I am so excited! I never feel more grown up than when I host my parents in Brian and I’s home. I know, it is kind of funny, but even though I am married with a career and a family (Brian and Frog) of my own, there is just something about them coming that solidifies the sentiment that I am an adult. And part of what I love is that I get to show them a slice of my life as a Tochman, a working professional, a Dallassite. It’s been interesting to see how my path as an adult has diverged from theirs at this point, but I am thankful that though we don’t see each other as much as we used to, we are as close as ever. I love my parents!

And with their coming, I want to be a good hostess. I want to show them a good time, help them relax and feel at home, and treat them to some delicious food! Here are some ideas I have for some small bites for the weekend (we will be dining on some of Dallas’ most delicious fares for our larger meals):

Strawberry & Peach Sangria

My Dad’s favorite food…cheese!

Baked Buffalo Chicken Bites

Cookie Dough Bites

I can’t wait to see my Mom, Dad and Abbie tomorrow and to play hostess! Happy (almost) weekend!

One thought on “The Hostess with the Mostess

Leave a Reply

