Adventures with Abbie

Whether she liked it or not, Abbie was a part of a typical Tochman weekend this past weekend. What does this mean? A LOT of adventures…mostly before noon!

Abbie came in to town this past week for an interview (which she ROCKED!), and to spend time with us…but mainly Froggie, haha! We had a great time! I absolutely LOVE my sister, and I am so thankful for the relationship we have. We have so much fun together, but I also learn so much from her as we talk about life, tough decisions, and our futures. She is very wise and is a true depiction of the phrase “Still waters run deep”. She does not necessarily say a lot, but she is extremely thoughtful in her words and actions and thinks everything through very carefully…basically the opposite of her haphazard sister. Which is one of a million reasons I love her so much!

It’s been a while since she’s been to visit, so we wanted to show her a great time. Friday night we went to Victor Tangos for some tapas and cocktails and enjoyed talking and catching up. It had been a long week for us all, and dinner was a great way to unwind and celebrate the weekend together.

At Victor Tangos.

We woke up around 7:30 on Saturday morning (yikes, I know, but so characteristic for us…poor Abbie!) and went for a 16 mile bike ride…a great way to start the day. After grabbing brunch at our favorite place, Buzzbrews, we decided to go rock climbing. This is one of my favorite things to do with Brian. It was one of our very first dates and always brings back sentimental memories for me…not to mention it is a whole lot of fun! That said, we went to Exposure–a new climbing gym for me, that is comprised of six grain silos–each 110 feet tall–that have been converted in to climbing walls. Yes, quite intimidating upon first glimpse. Brian, of course, scaled the wall to the top with no difficulty whatsoever, and then our friend Patrick followed suit. Abbie and I both did a couple of solid climbs before she decided to do “just one more”. After not  having climbed in 12 years or so, she got all the way to the top!!! 110 feet! I was SO proud…she is incredibly determined and athletic, and she did it!! Of course, I did not want to be the only one not to reach the top, so I took my turn and with (minimal) fear, did the same. I was so happy to have accomplished that feat, and SO PROUD of my little sis for doing the same! What a fun day!

We then went to the pool for the afternoon to relax and after pizza and wine, went home to crash hard that night. Sunday, after a great Church service, we grabbed lunch and took Froggie to the dog park. Abbie was such a proud Auntie watching the pup run around with friends. We also had to celebrate National Ice Cream Day (obviously) by going to Pokey’os, Abbie and I’s favorite frozen treat! Yum! After an afternoon of open houses around Highland Park (another Tochman favorite), we went to Mi Cocina for drinks and dinner.

Ready for the pool!

Long day for the boys.

I had such a great time with Abbie this weekend and loved our talks, abundant laughter, and many adventures. I would be remiss to not mention how much I love seeing the pseudo brother-sister relationship she and Brian have developed, too, and absolutely love my time with my two best friends!

Thanks for the visit, Abs (“Happy”), and I can’t wait for our next weekend together! xoxo.

One thought on “Adventures with Abbie

Leave a Reply

